Nigeria rest Victor Moses ahead of Bafana Bafana tie

LONDON, ENGLAND - AUGUST 27: Victor Moses of Chelsea celebrates scoring his sides third goal during the Premier League match between Chelsea and Burnley at Stamford Bridge on August 27, 2016 in London, England. (Photo by Ben Hoskins/Getty Images)

Chelsea star Victor Moses is the most notable absentee in a 25-man Nigeria squad named for training camp and friendly match in France later this month as they prepare to take on South Africa in the opening game of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Moses was likely being given time to rest after a grueling season, which only concludes on May27, when he faces fellow Nigerian international Alex Iwobi in the FA Cup final at Wembley.

Arsenal’s Iwobi has been named by Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr for the training camp that starts on May 24 on the Mediterranean island of Corsica. The Nigerians take on the French island’s national team two days later.

Iwobi only joins after the FA Cup final, with Moses likely to link up with the squad days before Nigeria host Bafana Bafana at Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo on June 10.

Also missing is former Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel, along with Odion Ighalo and Brown Ideye, who play in China.

  Nigeria goalkeeper Ikeme in remission after year-long cancer battle

Nigeria’s squad boasts four locally based players. The rest ply their trade in Europe.

Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Dele Alampasu (Cesarense, Portugal), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Uche Agbo (Granada, Spain), Ola Aina (Chelsea, England), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal), Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands), Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain), Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus), William Troost Ekong (KAA Ghent, Belgium)

Midfielders: Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal), Oghenekaro Etebo (Feirense, Portugal), Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Strikers: Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England), Olanrewaju Kayode (Austria Wien, Austria), Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England), Stephen Odey, Sikiru Olatubosun (both MFM FC), Victor Osimhen (VfL Wolfsburg, Germany), Noah Serenren-Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany), Moses Simon (KAA Ghent, Belgium), Isaac Success (Watford, England).

Kindly share after reading, thanks.

What Do you think?

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of