England thrash India to win ODI series


England have won their ODI series against India courtesy of an eight-wicket victory over the tourists in their third and final match in Leeds this evening.

The hosts, who were beaten by the same scoreline in the recent Twenty20 series between the two sides, needed less than 45 overs to beat India’s target of 256-8, with Joe Root and captain Eoin Morgan leading the charge.

Root brought up his century on the final ball as he finished on 100 not out, and he was ably supported by Morgan, who hit 88 not out to see England over the line.

It was India’s top order that had done all the damage in their recent wins over England, but Rohit Sharma managed just two runs this time around while Shikhar Dhawan was run out for 44 by Ben Stokes.

Virat Kohli was the tourists’ star man with the bat, hitting 71 of just 72 balls, but those around him continued to fall and MS Dhoni (42) was the only other player to make a significant score as David Willey and Adil Rashid both claimed three wickets.

England’s chase got off to a quick start with James Vince posting a run-a-ball 27 before being run out and Jonny Bairstow blasting 30 off just 13 deliveries.

It was Root – who becomes the first ever Englishman to make 13 ODI centuries – and Morgan who carried England all the way over the line, though, wrapping up the victory with more than five overs to spare as the hosts sealed a convincing win.

The two teams will next face off in a five-Test series which begins on August 1.

Kindly share after reading, thanks.

What Do you think?

Notify of