9ja FlavourAFCONAfrican FootballFootballNEWSNigeria FootballSuper Eagles

Ahmed Musa, Troost-Ekong return as Peseiro releases 25-man Super Eagles squad

Onyedika, Onyeka, Onyemaechi included, Moffi left out

Super Eagles Head Coach Jose Peseiro has revealed the list of players to defend the colours of Nigeria in next month’s Africa Cup of Nations in Cote d’Ivoire.

The Portuguese tactician has pruned down his initial 40-man list to only 25 players, despite CAF providing room for up to 27 players to be named by every team.

There are returns to the squad for Turkey-based captain Ahmed Musa and Greece-based vice-captain William Troost-Ekong. The coach also named Chippa United goalkeeper Stanley Nwabali as part of the travelling party for the tournament, as well as Enyimba captain Olorunleke Ojo.

Sadiq Umar makes the squad, with Club Brugge starlet Raphael Onyedika also named for the tournament. Victor Osimhen and Victor Boniface were also included in the squad for the tournament.

Here is the squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Stanley Nwabali, Olorunleke Ojo.

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Calvin Bassey, Ola Aina, Zaidu Sanusi, Bruno Onyemaechi, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Semi Ajayi, Chidozie Awaziem.

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi, Raphael Onyedika, Frank Onyeka, Joe Aribo.

Forwards: Victor Osimhen, Victor Boniface, Moses Simon, Ahmed Musa, Sadiq Umar, Ademola Lookman, Kelechi Iheanacho, Samuel Chukwueze.

The Super Eagles will kick off the tournament against the Nzalang Nacional of Equatorial Guinea on January 14th before facing hosts Cote d’Ivoire four days later and Guinea-Bissau on the 22nd.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x