F1NEWSOther Sports

Belgian Grand Prix: Verstappen wins eighth consecutive race, coasting to championship

Red Bull driver extends Championship lead

Max Verstappen continued his absolute dominance of the 2023 Formula One season as he cruised to victory in the Belgian Grand Prix, his eighth successive win this season.

Coming into the weekend, Verstappen was on a tear, with seven successive wins and an unassailable lead atop the Championship standings. The Red Bull driver is en route to a third successive World Championship title.

Verstappen emerged as the fastest in qualifying, but a gearbox change earned him a five-place grid penalty, ensuring he lost pole position to Charles Leclerc and started in P6. He, however, went on to win the Sprint race held on Saturday to earn extra points.

Leclerc lost the lead in the first lap to Red Bull driver Sergio Perez as Verstappen, who started from far behind, reached P2 in just nine laps. The Dutchman needed just eight more laps before he overtook Perez to take the lead for the first time.

Verstappen held on despite the rain to beat Perez to victory in the Belgian Grand Prix, with Perez completing a Red Bull 1-2. Leclerc did well to hold on and finish in third place, securing a podium finish. Lewis Hamilton finished fourth, Fernando Alonso was fifth, George Russell finished in sixth place and Lando Norris was seventh.

Esteban Ocon, Lance Stroll and Yuki Tsunoda completed the point scorers in Belgium, as Verstappen was voted as Driver of the Day. Hamilton earned himself an extra point for finishing with the fastest lap.

The season will continue in Netherlands, where Verstappen will have a chance to tie the Formula One record for most consecutive wins from August 27th.


What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x