African FootballNEWSSuper Falcons

CAF Awards: Oshoala, Nnadozie, Abiodun make top-three In different award categories

Nigeria Women’s national team players, Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie and Deborah Abiodun have made the top-three shortlist for different 2023 CAF award categories.

This is according to official announcement by the Confederation of African football [CAF] via its X handle on Thursday, December 7, 2023.

CAF trimmed the list of nominees to three for the men and women award categories ahead of the grand-ceremony in Morocco, this weekend.

Three Super Falcons have made the cut.

Super Falcons and FC Barcelona striker, Asisat Oshoala is up against South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana and Barbara Banda of Zambia for the Women’s player of the year award.

Oshoala who has won the award for a record five times will eye a sixth crown with Thembi Kgatlana expected to mount a serious challenge.

Paris FC and Super Falcons star, Chiamaka Nnadozie is favourite to land the CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award. The 22-year old is in the top-three alongside Khadija Er-Rmichi of Morocco and South Africa’s Andile Dlamini.

Super Falcons midfielder Deborah Abiodun will face Comfort Yeboah of Ghana and Morocco’s Nesryne El Chad for the Young Player of the Year, award.

Also, the Super Falcons of Nigeria , are in the top-three for the National Team of the Year (Women) award. Fast-rising Morocco and current African champions South Africa, complete the shortlist for that category.

American coach, Randy Waldrum is not in the top-three for the Coach of the Year award. Reynald Pedro of Morocco, Desiree Ellis of South Africa, and Jerry Tshabalala of Mamelodi Sundowns are preferred to the former Super Falcons coach.

The 2023 CAF Awards ceremony will take place in Morocco on December 11, 2023.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x