Off the Pitch

Even Neymar’s coach voted for Ronaldo as he equals Messi’s FIFA best player award tally

It was a landslide victory for Cristiano Ronaldo as he claimed the 2017 Best FIFA men’s player award on Monday in London.

It was the Portuguese Super Stars 5th equaling Lionel Messi’s record of five FIFA men’s player of the year awards. Cristiano Ronaldo, however, became the first player to win both the FIFA Ballon d’Or and FIFA The Best Awards in Back-to-Back years with the help of his rivals teammates.

The award, which covers the period of Nov. 20, 2016, to July 2, 2017, is voted for by national team coaches, captains, and selected media, who each listed a first, second and third-place choice on their ballots.

For the second straight year, Tite chose to vote for Ronaldo first and Neymar second. After voting Neymar third last year, media representative Paulo Coelho left Neymar off his ballot entirely, preferring Ronaldo, Messi and Brazilian defender Marcelo.

He won the award with a landslide vote. FIFA’s Best Men’s Player Award voting breakdown:

1 – Ronaldo = 43.16%
2 – Messi = 19.25%
3 – Neymar = 6.97%

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x