Falcons reign supreme at CAF African Awards - All the award winners Nigeria Football | Nigeria sports news, transfers & gossips
Nigeria Football

Falcons reign supreme at CAF African Awards – All the award winners

Nine –time African champions, Super Falcons emerged the Women’s National Team of the Year at the 2018 AITEO-CAF African Football Awards held on Goree Island, near Dakar on Tuesday night.

It was the fourth time the Super Falcons would pick up the diadem, following earlier wins in 2010, 2014 and 2016. Last month in Ghana, Nigeria’s Women National Team won the Women Africa Cup of Nations for the third successive time and ninth time overall.

For the second year running, the bog occasion for rewarding performers in the game on the African continent was bankrolled by Nigeria’s leading energy solution company, AITEO – also the Official Optimum Partner of the Nigeria Football Federation.

Two Heads of Government, in President Macky Sall of Senegal and President George Weah of Liberia, turned up, joined by FIFA President Gianni Infantino, CAF President Ahmad, FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura (a Senegalese), CAF 1st Vice President/NFF President Amaju Pinnick, CAF 2nd Vice President Constant Omari and CAF 3rd Vice President Fouzi Lekjaa.

There was also the full complement of the membership of CAF Executive Committee, legends of the game from across the African continent, members of the diplomatic corps and world renowned artistes who put up magnificent performances.

Pinnick picked up the Super Falcons’ award, presented by four –time winner of the Woman Player of the Year, Perpetua Nkwocha. Nigeria legends Emmanuel Amuneke (winner of the Player of the Year in 1994), Nwankwo Kanu (winner in 1996 and 1999), Victor Ikpeba (winner in 1997) and the daughter of late Rashidi Yekini (winner in 1993) joined the Legends XI parade that also included President Weah (the 1995 World, European and African Player of the Year), Patrick Mboma (Cameroon), El Hadj Diouf (Senegal), Frederick Kanoute (Mali), Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire), Samuel Eto’o Fils (Cameroon) and Mohamed Salah (Egypt).


Platinum Award: President Macky Sall of Senegal

Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria

Men’s National Team of the Year: Mauritania

Women’s Coach of the Year: Desire Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Herve Renard (Morocco)

Best National Federation: Morocco

Young Player of the Year: Achraf Hakimi (Morocco)

Goal of the Year: Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

Player of the Year (Woman): Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

Player of the Year (Man): Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

Africa’s Finest XI: Denis Onyango; Serge Aurier; Mehdi Benatia; Eric Bailly; Kalidou Koulibaly; Thomas Partey; Naby Keita; Riyad Mahrez; Sadio Mane; Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang; Mohamed Salah


Ajike is one of Nigeria's top Sportscasters with over 15 years of experience in writing and talking Sports.

Related Articles

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x