BasketballNigerians in NBA

Giannis, LeBron, Morant, and Adebayo, in the mix as NBA announces finalists for MVP, Rookie of the Year, 6th Man of the Year, others

Giannis Antetokounmpo, LeBron James, Ja Morant, Bam Adebayo are all in the mix as the NBA officially announced the finalists for each of its 2019-20 regular-season awards.

As expected, Nigerian-born Giannis Antetokoumpo is in contention for the the most valuable player award and joined by LeBron James and James Harden.

Antetokoumpo who is also included on the final list of the NBA Defensive Player of the Year could become the first to be named the MVP and Defensive Player of the Year in the same season since Hakeem Olajuwon in 1993-94.

He could also become the first back-to-back MVP winner since Stephen Curry (2014-15, 2015-16).

LeBron James could win his fifth MVP award and his first since the 2012-13 season.

James Harden who is leading the NBA for the third straight season could join Moses Malone as the only Rockets player to win multiple MVP awards.

Here are the finalists for each of the major awards.

NBA MVP Finalists

Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)
LeBron James (Los Angeles Lakers)
James Harden (Houston Rockets

NBA Rookie of the Year Finalists

Ja Morant (Memphis Grizzlies)
Zion Williamson (New Orleans Pelicans)
Kendrick Nunn (Miami Heat)

NBA Sixth Man of the Year Finalists

Montrezl Harrell (Los Angeles Clippers)
Dennis Schroder (New Orleans Pelicans)
Lou Williams (Los Angeles Clippers)

NBA Most Improved Player Finalists

Bam Adebayo (Miami Heat)
Brandon Ingram (New Orleans Pelicans)
Luka Doncic (Dallas Mavericks)

NBA Defensive Player of the Year Finalists

Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)
Anthony Davis (Los Angeles Lakers)
Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz)

NBA Coach of the Year Finalists

Nick Nurse (Toronto Raptors)
Billy Donovan (Oklahoma City Thunder)
Mike Budenholzer (Milwaukee Bucks)

While the NBA hasn’t offered a date for when the awards will be given out, an official release from the league issued on July 21 stated that TNT will announce the winners during its coverage of the postseason.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x