9ja FlavourNigeria Football

How much will NFF give to 2024 President Federation cup finalists

The four finalists in the 2024 President Federation Cup received a total of One hundred and five million Naira (N105,000,000) in cash rewards from the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF)].

Cash Rewards Breakdown:

  • Rivers Angels: N25 million (Champions, Women’s Competition)
  • Naija Ratels: N10 million (Runners-up, Women’s Competition)
  • El-Kanemi Warriors: N50 million (Champions, Men’s Competition)
  • Abia Warriors: N20 million (Runners-up, Men’s Competition)

Rivers Angels, the 2024 champions, secured their ninth title with a narrow 1-0 victory over Naija Ratels, thanks to Blessing Okpe’s first-half penalty at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena in Lagos. This marked a significant achievement for Coach Whyte Ogbonda, who lifted his first trophy as head coach. He praised his team’s dedication and hard work, stating, “This victory is a testament to the team’s resilience and determination. We are thrilled to be champions of the President Federation Cup.”

Naija Ratels’ head coach, Bankole Olowookere, also commended his young squad for their progress to the final despite the loss, expressing pride in their fighting spirit and optimism for future success.

In the men’s final, El-Kanemi Warriors triumphed with a 2-0 win over Abia Warriors, led by the stellar performance of midfielder Nasiru Salihu, who scored both goals and was named the competition’s Most Valuable Player. This victory secured El-Kanemi Warriors their third title and a spot in the next season’s CAF Confederation Cup, alongside Enyimba FC of Aba.

The event was graced by dignitaries including Sports Development Minister Senator John Owan Enoh, Acting Governor of Borno State His Excellency Umar Usman, and NFF President Ibrahim Musa Gusau, among others. The return of Nigeria’s Cup final to its birthplace by the Lagos Waterfront was a notable occasion celebrated by various officials and football enthusiasts.

Awards and Honors

Women’s Competition:

  • Winner: Rivers Angels (N25 million)
  • Runner-Up: Naija Ratels (N10 million)
  • MVP: Blessing Okpe (Rivers Angels FC)
  • Top Scorer: Agama Ziperefeghe (Naija Ratels FC)
  • Best Goalkeeper: Agatha Thompson (Rivers Angels FC)

Men’s Competition:

  • Winner: El-Kanemi Warriors (N50 million)
  • Runner-Up: Abia Warriors (N20 million)
  • MVP: Nasiru Salihu (El-Kanemi Warriors FC)
  • Top Scorer: Emmanuel Ogbole (Kwara United FC)
  • Best Goalkeeper: Ali Ishaku (Abia Warriors FC)

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x