Nigeria Football

Kano Pillars Are 2019 Aiteo Cup Champions

Kano Pillars of Kano have been crowned champions of the 2019 Aiteo Cup after a 4-3 penalty shootout win over Niger Tornadoes at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna on Sunday.

In what was a drab game of 90mins of football, the proximity of Kano and Minna to Kaduna was a good factor as the final saw a full capacity stadium.

Chances were minimal between both sides but 2018 losing finalist, Kano Pillars eventually emerged winners when Emmanuel Ayanwu had the advantage for Sai Musa Gida, only for Tornadoes’ Ayo Adeyola to sky his effort as Kano Pillars made the stance of the saying that “Once Bitten Is Twice Shy”
With Pillars finishing second in the Nigeria Professional Football League and already guaranteed of a spot in next year’s CAF Champions League, Niger Tornadoes are guaranteed of the second slot in the continent’s second club competition even after losing the final.

Kano Pillars have now won the ultimate prize of 25 million naira as winners while Niger Tornadoes who finished runners up were awarded 10 million naira.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x