Laporte guides Manchester City to fourth successive Carabao Cup win Football | Nigeria sports news, transfers & gossips
Capital OneFootballNEWS

Laporte guides Manchester City to fourth successive Carabao Cup win

Tottenham Hotspur players left distraught after latest final loss

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City picked up the Carabao Cup trophy after defeating Tottenham Hotspur 1-0 in the final at Wembley Stadium on Sunday in front of fans.

Tottenham Hotspur were coached by academy graduate and former player, Ryan Mason who had his career cut short after he sustained a head injury in the 2016/17 season. Tottenham struggled to create chances to score any goals and both sides cancelled each other out until Manchester City defender, Aymeric Laporte stepped up with the decisive touch from a Kevin De Bruyne cross as he planted a header past Hugo Lloris in the Tottenham goal and into the net in the 82nd minute of the encounter as the game ended 1-0.

The result left Tottenham’s stars feeling distraught as they once again failed to win the club its first piece of silverware since 2008. Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City side have now won the Carabao Cup in each of the last four seasons, and they look to win a treble this season as they are still in the running for both the UEFA Champions League and the English Premier League titles.

Salahudeen Sulayman

Sulayman is a sports enthusiast and budding Sports writer. You can reach him on Twitter @Sulayman_Salah

Related Articles

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x