Leicester’s Kante in, Man Utd’s Schneiderlin on standby as Hosts France name Euro 2016 squad

France head coach Didier Deschamps has named his squad for this summer’s European Championships.

There are 10 Premier League players in Deschamps’s 23-man selection, including Manchester United frontmanAnthony Martial and Leicester City midfielder N’Golo Kante.

As expected, Karim Benzema and Mathieu Valbuena have been omitted following their recent blackmail row, while Hatem Ben Arfa and Alexandre Lacazette have also been overlooked.

Those two are both on the list of standby players, as is Man United midfielder Morgan Schneiderlin, who has lost his place to Kante.

France’s Euro 2016 squad

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris, Steve Mandanda, Benoit Costil

Defenders: Bacary Sagna, Patrice Evra, Raphael Varane, Laurent Koscielny, Eliaquim Mangala, Christophe Jallet, Lucas Digne, Jeremy Mathieu

Midfielders: Lassana Diarra, Blaise Matuidi, Paul Pogba, N’Golo Kante, Moussa Sissoko, Yoann Cabaye

Attackers: Antoine Griezmann, Olivier Giroud, Anthony Martial, Andre-Pierre Gignac, Dimitri Payet, Kingsley Coman

Standby: Alphonse Areola, Morgan Schneiderlin, Hatem Ben Arfa, Alexandre Lacazette, Kevin Gameiro, Adrien Rabiot, Djibril Sidibe, Samuel Umtiti

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x