African Football

Mamelodi Sundowns are maiden Africa Football League champions

Mamelodi Sundowns are maiden Africa Football League Champions after defeating Wydad Casablanca 3-2 on aggregate in the final.

The two-legged final was concluded on Sunday, November 12 with South African side Mamelodi Sundowns emerging victorious 2-0 to overturn a 2-1 first-leg loss.

Wydad Casablanca won the Africa Football League final first-leg 2-1 in Morocco, last week but fell short at Loftus Versield Stadium as Mamelodi Sundowns flourished.

Mamelodi Sundowns champions of the maiden Africa Football League
Mamelodi Sundowns Celebrate one of their goals in the 2-0 Africa Football League final win over Wydad Casablanca.

Peter Shallulaile drew Sundowns in front in first half stoppage time before Modiba doubled the advantage in the second half to seal a 2-0 win and 3-2 aggregate result.

Sundowns have thus entered the history book as first-ever Champions of the Africa Football League.

The Africa Football League was launched in 2012 first as Africa Super League before major adjustments and kick-off in 2023.

8-top teams in the continent were selected and took part in the maiden edition which now ends with the crowning of Mamelodi Sundowns as Champions.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x