F1NEWSOther Sports

Max Verstappen wins 2023 Formula One championship

Red Bull driver joins elite group of drivers to three-peat

Red Bull Racing driver Max Verstappen picked up his third consecutive championship title in Formula One after a second-place finish behind Oscar Piastri at the Qatar Grand Prix Sprint. The Dutchman became only the fifth driver to win three consecutive Formula One titles.

Heading into this weekend, Verstappen was clear atop the standings and knew he could seal a third successive title in Qatar. He secured pole position in qualifying to further strengthen his case for the title and move him closer to glory.

In the 19-lap sprint race, the Red Bull driver needed to finish sixth to win his third title. He went on to finish second behind McLaren rookie Oscar Piastri and ahead of another McLaren driver, Lando Norris.

Verstappen won his third title after his triumphs in 2021 and 2022, but this was by far his most dominant season with 13 wins this year and 15 podium finishes. He has a chance to continue to rack up wins for the remainder of the season, starting with the Qatar Grand Prix tomorrow.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x