Mikel, Mane, Drogba and 15 other African players to have won the Premier League title

Mo Salah, Saido Mane, Joel Matip and Naby Keita have become the latest African players to have won the English Premier League title after their success with Liverpool this season.

A total of 18 different African players from eight countries have won the English Premier League title.

By country, Ivory Coast has the highest number with four players closely followed by Nigeria, Ghana and Cameroon who all have three players each.

Algeria, Senegal, Liberia, Guinea and South Africa all have just one player each on this list.

Liberia: Christopher Wreh (Arsenal)

He was the first African player to win the title, he won with Arsenal in the 1997-1998 season.

Nigeria: Kanu Nwankwo (Arsenal)

Kanu Nwankwo become just the second African player to win the Premier League title when he won with Arsenal in the 2001-02 season.

He also won another in the 2003-04 as a member of the invincible Arsenal squad.

Cameroon: Lauren Etame-Mayer

Lauren Etame-Mayer alongside Kanu Nwankwo were joint second African player to have won the Premier League title.

He won alongside Papilo with Arsenal in 2001-02 and was a big part of the invincible Arsenal team in 2003-04.

South Africa: Quinton Fortune (Manchester United)

Quinton Fortune was just the third African to win the prestigious title when he did with the great Sir Alex Ferguson United in the 2002-03 season.

Ivory Coast: Kolo Toure (Arsenal, Manchester City)

Kolo Toure was part of the invincible Arsenal team that won the title in 2003-04 without losing a game.

He also won the title in 2011-12 with Manchester City becoming the first African player to win the title with two different clubs.

Ivory Coast: Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

Didier Drogba won the most of all the African players with four winners medals.

The Chelsea legend was part of the 2004-05, and 2005-2006 Jose Mourinho side.

He also won the title in 2009-10 and again under Jose Mourinho in 2014-15.

Cameroon: Geremi Njitap (Chelsea)

Geremi Njitap won the Premier League title on two occasions under the tutelage of Jose Mourinho in 2004-05 and 2005-06 seasons.

Ghana: Michael Essien (Chelsea)

Michael Essien became the first Ghanaian to win the English Premier title when he won with Chelsea in the 2005-06 season.

He also did it in 2009-10 under Carlo Ancelotti.

Nigeria: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea)

John Obi Mikel who was two time Chelsea young player of the year won his first Premier League title 2009-10 and his second in 2014-15 season.

Ivory Coast: Salomon Kalou (Chelsea)

Salomon Kalou won the title once in 2009-10 season.

Ivory Coast: Yaya Toure (Manchester City)

Yaya Toure won the title on three different occasions, 2011–12, 2013–14, and 2017–18 seasons.

Algeria: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City and Manchester City)

Riyad Mahrez won the title twice with Leicester City and Manchester City.

Ghana: Jeffrey Schlupp, Daniel Amartey (Leicester City)

Jeffrey Schlupp and Daniel Amartey were part of the Claudio Ranieri side that surprised everyone winning the title with Leicester City in 2015-16 season.

Nigeria: Victor Moses (Chelsea)

Victor Moses was a key member of the Antonio Conte team that won the title in the 2016-17 season.

Egypt: Mo Salah (Liverpool)

The Egyptian king, helped Liverpool secured their first league title in 30 years in 2019-20 season.

He was also a member of the Chelsea that won the title in 2014-15 season but didn’t get the winners medal as he only played three games, two games short the required number to be eligible for a medal.

Mo Salah is the first Egyptian to win the Premier League title.

Senegal: Saido Mane (Liverpool)

A key member of Jurgen Klopp Liverpool side who won the title in 2019/20 season.

Saido is the first Senegalese player to win the Premier
League title.

Guinea: Naby Keita (Liverpool)

Although, Naby Keita followed the foot steps of Guinean legend, Titi Camara by playing for Liverpool.

He is the first Guinean player to win a Premier League title. He was a member of Jurgen Klopp 2019-20 victorious side.

Cameroon: Joel Matip (Liverpool)

Joel Matip won with Liverpool in the 2019-20 season.

All 18 African players who have won the Premier League

Ivory Coast: Didier Drogba, Salomon Kalou, Yaya Touré, Kolo Touré

Cameroon: Lauren, Geremi Njitap, Joel Matip

Nigeria: John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, Nwankwo Kanu

Ghana: Jeffrey Schlupp, Daniel Amartey, Michael Essien

Senegal: Sadio Mané

Liberia: Christopher Wreh

Guinea: Naby Keita

South Africa: Quinton Fortune

Algeria: Riyad Mahrez

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
SportsRation We would like to show you notifications for the latest sport news and updates.
Allow Notifications