9ja FlavourFootballNEWSNigeria Football

Naija Super 8: Organisers reveal 12 teams for preliminary round

Seven NPFL teams make list for competition in Eket

The organisers of the Naija Super 8 football competition have revealed the teams that were voted to participate in the preliminary round of the competition at an event in Lagos.

The football competition, the first of its kind in Nigeria, will take place between teams from each of the country’s six geopolitical zones. Two teams were selected from each geopolitical zone and they will face each other in the preliminary round between June 23 and June 25 at the Eket Township Stadium in Akwa Ibom for a place in the Naija Super 8 in Lagos.

Here are the fixtures for the preliminary round:

  • North-West: Kano Pillars (Kano) vs Katsina Utd (Katsina)
  • North-East: Yobe Desert Stars (Yobe) vs Gombe Utd (Gombe)
  • North-Central: City FC (Abuja) vs Lobi Stars (Benue)
  • South-West: Shooting Stars (Oyo) vs Remo Stars (Ogun)
  • South-East: Enyimba (Abia) vs Heartland (Imo)
  • South-South: Rivers United (Rivers) vs Bendel Insurance (Edo)

Undoubtedly, the games of the round are between Bendel Insurance, a side unbeaten in the NPFL23 regular season and Rivers United, reigning NPFL champions. Also, Shooting Stars will be looking for a first pound of flesh when they face Remo Stars in their preliminary South-west derby.

The six winners of the zonal preliminaries will be joined by two wildcard entries and progress to the Super Eight in Lagos where they will play for the Naija Super 8 crown.

The competition will take place after the conclusion of the NPFL23 Super Six in Lagos.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
SportsRation We would like to show you notifications for the latest sport news and updates.
Allow Notifications