9ja FlavourFalconetsFIFA U20 Women's World CupWomen's Football

Nigeria know 2024 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup opponents

The Falconets of Nigeria will participate at the 2024 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup to be hosted by Colombia.

The draw for the 11th edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup™ has been conducted in Bogota, Colombia, setting the stage for an exciting tournament scheduled from August 31 to September 22.

With an expanded field of 24 teams, up from 16 in previous editions, the competition promises captivating encounters across six groups.

The Falconets of Nigeria will face Germany, Venezuela and Korea Republic in Group D.

Nigeria will begin their campaign against Korea Republic before facing Germany and Venezuela in the group stage.

In Group A, hosts Colombia will face stiff competition from Australia, Cameroon, and Mexico. Meanwhile, reigning champions Spain headline Group C, where they will contend with joint-record champions USA, Paraguay, and tournament debutants Morocco.

Here are the groupings:

  • Group A: Colombia, Australia, Cameroon, Mexico
  • Group B: France, Canada, Brazil, Fiji
  • Group C: Spain, USA, Paraguay, Morocco
  • Group D: Germany, Venezuela, Nigeria, Korea Republic
  • Group E: Japan, New Zealand, Ghana, Austria
  • Group F: Korea DPR, Argentina, Costa Rica, Netherlands

Colombia, having previously hosted the FIFA U-20 World Cup in 2011™ and the FIFA Futsal World Cup in 2016™, will now welcome the world’s best young female footballers for the U-20 Women’s World Cup. This marks the second time a FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup will be held in the CONMEBOL region, following Chile’s hosting in 2008.

Excitement is building for the tournament, with match tickets set to go on sale via Visa presale from Thursday, June 6, at FIFA.com/tickets.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x