9ja Flavour

Nigeria left disappointed as Eberechi Eze makes for England Provisional Euro 2024 squad

The Nigerian football community received a blow with the announcement of England’s provisional squad for the upcoming European Championships, which includes Crystal Palace midfielder Eberechi Eze.

Eze’s selection dashed the hopes of the Super Eagles, led by Coach Finidi George, who had aimed to persuade Eze to represent Nigeria instead of England.

Eze’s stellar performances for Crystal Palace throughout the season, with 11 goals and four assists, contributed significantly to the team’s tenth-place finish in the league.

Nigerian fans had high hopes for the midfielder, but his call-up to the England squad closed the door on any chance of him playing for Nigeria in the near future.

Following the absence of other Nigerian-eligible players like Karim Adeyemi, Michael Olise, and Joshua Zirkzee from their respective national teams, fans had hoped for Eze’s exclusion in the England squad, but their hopes were dashed with his selection.

Gareth Southgate’s provisional squad of 33 players also saw notable omissions such as Marcus Rashford, Jordan Henderson, Ben Chilwell, Reece James, and Raheem Sterling. Surprise inclusions like Liverpool’s teenager Quansah, Crystal Palace’s Adam Wharton, and Burnley’s goalkeeper James Trafford added intrigue to the squad announcement.

With Southgate expected to trim the squad to 26 before the tournament begins on June 14, Nigerian football fans are left disappointed by Eze’s inclusion.

Full England List:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), James Trafford (Burnley).

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), James Maddison (Tottenham), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x