Nikola Jokic joins elite company with third NBA MVP award

Denver Nuggets’ center Nikola Jokic has further solidified his legacy in the NBA by clinching his third MVP Award, joining an illustrious group of basketball legends.

The NBA announced Jokic as the recipient of the prestigious Michael Jordan Trophy, surpassing fellow contenders Shai Gilgeous-Alexander of the Oklahoma City Thunder and Luka Doncic of the Dallas Mavericks.

With this latest accolade, Jokic joins the ranks of basketball icons such as Wilt Chamberlain, LeBron James, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Jordan, and Bill Russell, among others, as the ninth player to claim three or more MVP titles. Jokic had previously won back-to-back awards in the 2020–21 and 2021–22 seasons.

The 2023–24 MVP race saw Jokic dominate the voting, securing 79 first-place votes. Doncic garnered four first-place votes, while Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks and Gilgeous-Alexander received one and fifteen first-place votes, respectively.

Jokic’s stellar performance throughout the season underscored his value to the Nuggets, as he averaged 26.4 points, 12.4 rebounds, and 9.0 assists per game. His all-around contributions propelled the Nuggets to their first NBA championship the previous season and secured the second seed in the Western Conference playoffs for the 2023–2024 campaign.

Notably, Jokic’s 25 triple-doubles were second only to Domantas Sabonis of the Sacramento Kings, highlighting his versatility and impact on the court. As the only player to rank in the top 10 in scoring, rebounding, and assists, Jokic’s MVP-worthy performance reaffirms his status as one of the NBA’s premier talents.

READ ALSO: Victor Wembanyama named NBA rookie of the year

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x