AFCON 2021

Nwakali, Umar to make first AFCON start as Eguavoen names XI

Kelechi Nwakali and Sadiq Umar have been handed their first start for the Super Eagles as Austin Eguavoen names his Nigeria’s line-up against the African Wild Dogs of Guinea-Bissau.

Goalkeeper Francis Uzoho will be in goal to make his second AFCON appearance for the team. His debut in the competition came in a third place playoff against Tunisia in 2019.

Captain William Troost-Ekong will partner Semi Ajayi in the heart of defence as Kenneth Omeruo is being rested.

Tyronne Ebuehi, who will be making his debut AFCON appearance, is being deployed at full-back alongside Jamilu Collins.

The trio of Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Ekong are the only players unchanged in the line up.

The Super Eagles will take on Guinea-Bissau in their final group game by 8pm at the Stade Roumde Adjia in Garoua.

Nigeria’s starting XI vs. Guinea Bissau:

Uzoho, Ebuehi, Ekong, Ajayi, Collins, Ndidi, Nwakali, Iwobi, Ejuke, Iheanacho, Umar.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x