Nwora, Heat trio amongst 8 NBA stars in D'Tigers final 12 for Olympics
Tokyo Olympics

Nwora, Heat trio amongst 8 NBA stars in D’Tigers final 12 for Olympics

All is now set for the 2020 Olympic Games as the D’Tigers and D’Tigress coaches have released their final 12 man roster.

After about a month camping exercise in Sacramento and Las Vegas, D’Tigers head coach, Mike Brown selected Josh Okogie (Minnesota Timberwolves), Miami Heat’s trio of Gabe Vincent, KZ Okpala and Precious Achiuwa.

Jahlil Okafor (Detroit Pistons), Miye Oni (Utah Jazz) are all in line to make their debut for Nigeria after they were selected in the final 12 man roster.

Jordan Nwora (Milwaukee Bucks) will join Caleb Agada (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Obi Emegano (Fuenlbrada, Spain), Chimezie Metu (Sacramento Kings) and Ike Nwamu (Samara, Russia).

The team which recorded two famous wins against USA (World number 1) and Argentina (number 4) before a loss to Australia in their last tune up game will also include Ekpe Udoh who just completed a move to Virtus Bologna in the Italian Serie A.

According to the latest power ranking compiled by analysts, D’Tigers are rated fourth on the power ranking with just a week to the commencement of the basketball event.

D’Tigers are grouped against Italy, Australia and Germany.
All eyes will be on Adaora Elonu, Aisha Balarabe, Elizabeth Balogun, Promise Amukamara, Atonye Nyingifa, Ezinne Kalu, Pallas Kunaiyi-Akpannah and Ify Ibekwe at the Olympics ahead of their first game against USA on the 27th of July.


Ajike is one of Nigeria's top Sportscasters with over 15 years of experience in writing and talking Sports.

Related Articles

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x