9ja FlavourAfrican FootballFootballNEWSNigeria FootballSuper EaglesSuper Falcons

Peseiro, Eguavoen and Musa laud Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie and Falcons over 2023 CAF Awards win

In a night filled with accolades for Nigerian football, Victor Osimhen, Napoli’s prolific striker, emerged as the winner of the prestigious 2023 CAF Player of the Year at the CAF Awards ceremony held in Marrakech, Morocco.

Osimhen’s stellar performances throughout the year, both for his club and the Nigerian national team, earned him the coveted title, outshining the likes of Paris Saint-Germain’s Achraf Hakimi and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah.

Super Eagles head coach, Jose Peseiro, showered praise on Osimhen, applauding the striker for his outstanding achievements. Peseiro took to Twitter to express his joy, stating, “A big salute to @victorosimhen9 for winning CAF Player of the Year and being named in the CAF Team of the Year! His exceptional skill, commitment, and top-notch professionalism mark him as one of the world’s best. Truly deserved for an extraordinary talent!”

Osimhen’s remarkable year included leading Napoli to their first Serie A title in 33 years, where he earned recognition as Serie A’s Best Striker. His contributions also played a crucial role in Nigeria’s qualification for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, where he emerged as the top goalscorer. Furthermore, Osimhen’s stellar performances secured him a spot in the prestigious Ballon d’Or top ten.

Joining the chorus of admiration, Nigeria’s most-capped men’s player, Ahmed Musa, also extended his congratulations to Osimhen for the well-deserved recognition.

The celebration continued with other Nigerian football stars being honored at the ceremony. Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala claimed the Best Women’s Footballer of the Year award for an unprecedented sixth time. Chiamaka Nnadozie was acknowledged with the inaugural Goalkeeper of the Year award. The Super Falcons, Nigeria’s women’s national team, were crowned the best on the continent in recognition of their stellar performance at the 2023 FIFA World Cup.

Osimhen’s inclusion in the Team of the Year (Men) category highlighted his impact on the field. Additionally, the trio of Osinachi Ohale, Michelle Alozie, and Oshoala were recognized in the Team of the Year (Women).

The triumphant moment brought immense joy to Augustine Eguavoen, the head of the Nigeria Football Federation’s Technical Department and former Super Eagles coach, who shared his elation on Twitter, declaring, “NIGERIA WON TONIGHT. Congratulations Victor Osimhen, Nnadozie Chiamaka, Asisat Oshoala, and the Super Falcons.”

Osimhen’s achievement adds him to the distinguished list of Nigerian players who have clinched the CAF Player of the Year award, becoming the fifth Nigerian and the first since Nwankwo Kanu in 1999. Notably, Oshoala and Osimhen’s victories mark a historic moment as the first time players from the same country have won the best player awards for both men and women in the same year, etching their names into the annals of football history.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x