Salah beats De Bruyne again to win FWA Footballer of the Year Football | Nigeria sports news, transfers & gossips

Salah beats De Bruyne again to win FWA Footballer of the Year

Mohamed Salah’s incredible first season at Liverpool has been recognised by the Football Writers’ Association, who have voted him as their Footballer of the Year ahead of Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne.

Salah arrived at Anfield from Roma in pre-season and, although he joined with high expectations following his impressive spell in Italy, few would have predicted the impact he has had.

The Egypt international has scored 43 times in all competitions, including 31 in the Premier League to equal the record haul for a single 38-match season.

Salah adds the individual gong to the Professional Footballers’ Association’s (PFA) Players’ Player of the Year award, having also beaten De Bruyne to that one.

OFFICIAL – Mo Salah is Footballer of the Year. Full story here

— The FWA (@theofficialfwa) May 1, 2018
Belgium international De Bruyne had been considered the favourite for both awards for much of the season, but Salah’s consistent and remarkable goal-scoring form has just given him the edge, winning by 20 votes.

Salah joins Steven Gerrard and Luis Suarez in having won the award in the Premier League era while playing for Liverpool, and he is the first African to claim the prize.

Tottenham’s Harry Kane came third, while there were also votes for Sergio Aguero, Christian Eriksen, Roberto Firmino, Nick Pope, David Silva, Raheem Sterling and Jan Vertonghen.


Ajike is one of Nigeria's top Sportscasters with over 15 years of experience in writing and talking Sports.

Related Articles

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x