FootballForeign storiesInternational FootballWomen's Football

Spain are UEFA Nations League champions

This is the golden era for Spanish women’s football following their UEFA Nations League win to build on the World Cup win in 2022.

Spain have emerged as the Nations League champions for both the men’s and women’s games following a spectacular victory by the Spanish female national team over France in the final.

The Spanish side demonstrated their superiority in the Nations League final, defeating France 2-1 to clinch the coveted trophy.

Despite the distractions stemming from Luis Rubiales’s controversies during the World Cup final, the Spanish women’s national team showcased their championship-winning pedigree, reminiscent of their triumph in the Mundial in Australia.

While they faced a setback with a 3-2 defeat to Italy in the group stages, Spain’s performance was otherwise flawless. They secured victories over Sweden and Switzerland twice, along with an impressive away win against Italy.

In the semi-finals, La Furia Roja displayed their dominance by defeating the Netherlands 3-0, setting up a highly anticipated final clash against France, managed by Herve Renard, who had triumphed over Germany in the semi-finals.

The final showdown saw Spain emerge victorious with a resounding 2-1 win, cementing their status as the undisputed champions of the Nations League for both men’s and women’s football.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x