FIFA Women's World Cup

Spain defeat England to win 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup title

Spain defeated England 1-0 in the final match to win the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup title at the Stadium Australia in Sydney on Sunday August 20.

Spain Women’s national team captain Carmona Olga scored the only goal of the final match in the first half to down the English Ladies in Sydney.

For the 28th minute goal, England players Bronze lost the ball in midfield to Spain’s  Abelleira who trots forward, before finding Carmona to her left.

The skippers takes a touch forward before sending a rifled finish past Earps in goal for the Lionesses.

Spain were awarded a penalty kick in the second half but goalkeeper Mary Earps did just enough to deny Hermoso’s spot kick to keep her team in the game.

England substitute Lauren James caused trouble for the Spanish defence and came close to levelling matters but for a save by Coll.

Despite an improved performance in the second half, England failed to penetrate the opposition backline and so there was no way back for Sarina Weigman tutored Lionesses.

And so it finished Spain 1-0 England, heartbreak for the Lionesses and title for Spain who are Champions for the first time.

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Individual Awards:

Golden Ball – Aitana BonmatĂ­ 🇪🇸

Golden Glove – Mary Earps 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

Golden Boot – Hinata Miyazawa 🇯🇵

Best Young Player – Salma Paralluelo 🇪🇸

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x