ICC World T20: Familiar foes drawn together

India, Australia and New Zealand have been drawn in the same group of the 2016 ICC World Twenty20.

Pakistan and a qualifier will join the trio in Group 2 for the Super 10 stage in what is a tough group, released on Friday.

Trans-Tasman rivals Australia and New Zealand are yet to win a WT20 title, but lit up the 50-over World Cup on home soil earlier this year, and will be expected to feature heavily again after runs to the final, which Australia won.


Three former tournament winners, including the holders Sri Lanka, will meet in Group 1 as England and West Indies join South Africa and the reigning champions.

Third place represents the Proteas’ best efforts at a WT20.

India will host the tournament in March and April next year.

In the first round, Group A contains Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman, while Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan are in Group B.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
SportsRation We would like to show you notifications for the latest sport news and updates.
Allow Notifications