Foreign stories

UEFA Europa Conference League: West Ham crowned Champions

West Ham defeated Fiorentina 2-1 to be crowned Champions of the 2022/2023 UEFA Europa Conference League after a keenly contested final on Wednesday June 7.

After a drab hour in the final match, West Ham took the lead in the 62nd minute  via a penalty kick converted by Said Benrahma.

That lead lasted for five minutes as Giacomo Bonaventura scored for Fiorentina to make it 1-1 in the 67th minute.

With the game heading towards extra-time, Jarrod Bowen scored a late-winner for West Ham United to beat Fiorentina 2-1 to become Europa Conference League champions.

West Ham’s first major trophy since winning the FA Cup in the 1979/80 season.

in addition, the Hammers have now won a major European trophy for the first time since the 1964/65 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.

One man who also enteredd the history books is former Chelsea left back Emerson who became the first player to win the Champions League, the Europa League and the Europa Conference League.

The title was also significant for manager David Moyes who won a major trophy for the first time in his managerial career.

West Ham will now play in next seasons UEFA Europa League, a reward for emerging champions of Europe’s third tier club competition.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x