9ja FlavourAfrican FootballOff the Pitch

Vincent Enyeama rated as Greatest African Goalkeeper of All-time by IFFHS

Legendary Nigerian goalkepeer Vincent Enyeama has been rated as the Greatest African Goalkeeper of all-time by the International Federation of Football History and statistics – IFFHS.

In it’s recent rating of the greatest goalkeepers in history, Internationally renowned football history and statistics outfit via iffhs.com , named Vincent Enyeama as the best in Africa.


IFFHS names Enyeama as greatest African Goalkeeper
LILLE, FRANCE – OCTOBER 28: Goalkeeper of Lille Vincent Enyeama in action during the French Ligue 1 match between Lille OSC (LOSC) and Paris Saint Germain (PSG) at Stade Pierre-Mauroy on October 28, 2016 in Lille, France. (Photo by Jean Catuffe/Getty Images)

The rating is in recognition of his outstanding International and club career that began at home town club Ibom Stars Football Club of Uyo in the late 90’s.

Enyeama will always be remembered for his role in Enyimba International FC’s CAF Champions League back-to-back title wins in 2003 and 2004.

Following his successes at Enyimba International FC and firm grip of the Super Eagles goalkeeping spot following a perfect debut vs England at the 2002 World, Enyeama did move to Israeli club Bnei Yehuda in 2005.

At Yehuda, Hapoel Tell Aviv, Maccabi Tell Aviv and Lille OSC in France, Enyeama shone bright like a diamond to write his name in the history book as Africa’s greatest goalkepeer in history per IFFHS latest ranking.

At International level, the former Super Eagles skipper represented Nigeria at three World Cup tournaments and played a crucial role in the country’s 2013 Africa Cup of Nations title win.

The IFFHS, a non-profit organization based in Germany, ranks the performance of football players and coaches worldwide.

Enyeama’s selection as the best African goalkeeper of all time puts him ahead of other legendary African goalkeepers like Joseph-Antoine Bell, Thomas N’Kono, and Essam El-Hadary.

His remarkable career as a goalkeeper is backed by his numerous individual awards, including being named the best goalkeeper in the Israeli Premier League three times and the best goalkeeper in Ligue 1 in the 2013-2014 season.


The IFFHS All-Time Ranking, which covers the period from 1987 to 2022, also includes the best goalkeepers from other regions, such as Gianluigi Buffon (Italy) for UEFA, Jose Luis Chilavert (Paraguay) for CONMEBOL, Mohamed Abdullaziz Al-Deayea (Saudi Arabia) for AFC, Keylor Navas (Costa Rica) for CONCACAF, and Mark Bosnich (Australia) for Oceania.

To arrive at its statistics, IFFHS takes into consideration the “Top 20” for each year and allocate points to each place.

The first-placed receives 20 points, the second-placed 19 points, the third-placed 18 points… and a point for twentieth place.

If their annual world ranking comprises more than 20 goalkeepers, then the goalkeepers from 21st place onwards receive no points but If the annual world ranking comprises fewer than 20 goalkeepers (based on the fixed rules), no points will be awarded for the unoccupied places.

Summation of the points from the individual years provides an IFFHS All Time World Ranking since the beginning of the Goalkeeper Award in 1987.

Italian great Gianluigi Buffon leads the goalkeepers chart with Real Madrid and Spain legend Iker Casillas in second spot.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x