Barcelona named world football club of the decade

Spanish giants, FC Barcelona were named as the best club team in world football over the ten year period between 2011 and 2020 by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics, IFFHS, beating rivals Real Madrid and Bayern Munich to the prize.

The Catalan giants were given the honour after they amassed a grand total of 22 major trophies in the 10 years under review, including two UEFA Champions League titles, two Club World Cup titles, two UEFA Super Cup titles, 6 La Liga titles, 5 Copa del Rey titles and 5 Spanish Super Cup titles. They had a total of 2877 points, 95 more than second placed Real Madrid who had 2,782 points. German side Bayern Munich came out in third place with Paris St Germain in fourth and Atletico Madrid in fifth place.

Barcelona’s dominance has been underlined by the fact that they have now been awarded as club of the decade for two decades in a row, having also won the prize in the decade between 2001 and 2010.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x