Other Sports

Enyimba join Al-Ahly, Esperance, Mamelodi Sundowns in inaugural CAF African Football League

Nigerian champions set for eight-team tournament

NPFL champions Enyimba are prepared to participate in the inaugural edition of the African Football League, having been named among the eight clubs to take place in the tournament this year.

CAF named nine-time Nigerian champions Enyimba on the list of participants alongside perennial African champions Al-Ahly (Egypt), Esperance (Tunisia), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Petroleos de Luanda (Angola), Wydad Casablanca (Morocco), Simba (Tanzania) and TP Mazembe (Congo).

The draw for the tournament will be held on the 2nd of September in Cairo, with the format set to be two-legged knockout ties starting from the quarterfinal stage directly.

Enyimba will play their home games at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo. They will get a second chance at continental glory after failing to reach the group stage of the CAF Champions League.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x