Formula One: The 2015 season in numbers

With the dust having settled following the 2015 Formula One season, we take a look at some of the year’s key statistics with the help of Opta.


3 – Only four drivers have won more drivers’ crowns than Lewis Hamilton’s current total – Michael Schumacher (7), Juan Manuel Fangio (5), Alain Prost (4) and Sebastian Vettel (4).

– Hamilton, Nico Rosberg and Vettel became the most repeated podium in F1 history.

12 – Mercedes surpassed their record for one-two finishes in a single season, the best for a team in F1 history.

15 – Mercedes now hold the record for having both their drivers start from the front row of the grid on the most occasions in a single season.

25.042 seconds – Hamilton’s winning margin over Ferrari’s Vettel in Italy was the biggest of the season.

14 – Only Stirling Moss (16) has more Grand Prix wins than Rosberg without being F1 world champion.

13 –  Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz Jr equalled Vettel as the driver to have gained the most positions in a single race this season, the Spaniard in the United States and the German in Canada.

6 – Max Verstappen surpassed Vettel’s 2008 Toro Rosso record of securing points in five consecutive races.

5th – Force India achieved their best finish in the constructors’ standings.

9 – Lotus’ Pastor Maldonado ended the season as the driver with the most retirements.

51 – Fernando Alonso has now gone 51 races without a win, while McLaren have not tasted victory in 57 – their worst runs respectively.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
SportsRation We would like to show you notifications for the latest sport news and updates.
Allow Notifications