FootballInternational Football

Guardiola and Wiegman lead finalists for 2023 FIFA The Best Coaching Award

World soccer’s governing body, FIFA, has announced the finalists for The Best FIFA men’s and women’s coach awards, with Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola and England women’s manager Sarina Wiegman standing out among the nominees.

Guardiola, who guided Manchester City to a historic treble last season by winning the Premier League, FA Cup, and Champions League titles, is a strong contender for the men’s coach award.

The Spanish tactician’s success in multiple competitions has made him a favorite for the prestigious accolade.

Wiegman, the current holder of the women’s coach award and three-time winner, is in contention once again.

She led the England women’s team to the final of the Women’s World Cup, where they narrowly lost to Spain. Wiegman faces competition from Jonatan Giraldez, the coach of Barcelona women’s team, who secured the league title with just one loss and clinched their second Champions League crown.

The third finalist in the women’s category is Emma Hayes, Chelsea’s coach, who achieved success in the FA Women’s Super League and the FA Cup.

Hayes is set to leave Chelsea in May to take on the role of head coach for the United States women’s national team.

In the men’s category, Guardiola is joined by Simone Inzaghi, who steered Inter Milan to the Champions League final while securing the Coppa Italia. The third finalist, Luciano Spalletti, made history by ending Napoli’s 33-year Scudetto drought, winning the Serie A title with five games to spare.

The winners of The Best FIFA coaching awards will be revealed on January 15, 2024, in London, acknowledging the outstanding contributions of these coaches to the world of football.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x