9ja Flavour

Ikot Abasi clinches 2023 Akwa Ibom State Governor’s Cup title in thrilling final

In a match filled with excitement and drama, Ikot Abasi emerged victorious over Uyo to claim the prestigious 2023 Akwa Ibom State Governor’s Cup title. SportsRation reports.

The final showdown took place at the Uyo Township Stadium on Thursday, March 28, 2024, marking the culmination of a competition that commenced in September 2023.

Undefeated throughout the tournament, Uyo suffered their first loss in the most crucial encounter, as Ikot Abasi secured the championship in a thrilling final game that ended in a 1-1 draw in regulation time and was ultimately decided on penalties.

The official kickoff was taken by the Executive Governor of Akwa Ibom State, represented by his deputy, Senator Akon Eyakenyi. The early minutes of the game saw Ikot Abasi take the lead, courtesy of a goal from Abraham Bassey just two minutes into the match. However, Rovers FC forward Shedrach Anthony leveled the score for Uyo in the 40th minute, setting the stage for a tense battle.

As the game progressed towards the penalty shootout, Shedrach Anthony, who had previously equalized for Uyo, missed a crucial penalty kick in the 80th minute, turning from hero to villain for his team. With the deadlock unbroken after regulation time, FIFA Referee Mfon Akpan signaled for penalties to determine the winner.

In the ensuing shootout, Ikot Abasi displayed nerves of steel, emerging victorious with a 4-3 scoreline to be crowned champions of the 2023 Akwa Ibom State Governor’s Cup Competition. Prior to the final match, Urue Offong Oruko secured third place by defeating Essien Udim Local Government 1-0 in the third-place playoffs.

The Uyo Township Stadium was filled to capacity for the final match (Photo Credit: Oty Silas)

Individual accolades were also awarded, with Blessed Stars Football Academy midfielder Hossana Uyoh named the Best Player of the tournament. Agada Daniel claimed the top scorer award, while Emediong Iwok earned recognition as the best goalkeeper. Essien Udim’s team was honored with the Fair Play Team award for their sportsmanship throughout the competition.

In terms of prizes, Ikot Abasi received 5 million naira for emerging as champions, with runners-up Uyo receiving 3 million naira and the third-placed team receiving 2 million naira.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x