9ja FlavourFootballNEWSNigeria FootballNigeria Professional Football League

NPFL set for January commencement following draws

League to take place in abdridged format with significant purse

The 2022-23 NPFL season is finally set to kick off after the draws for the competition were held on Wednesday, December 28th. The Interim Management Committee (IMC) decided on an abridged format to be adopted for the new NPFL season after its delayed commencement.

Following their relegation from the top-flight last season, Kano Pillars will not be among the teams slugging it out for the 100 million Naira payday which will go to the champions. This marks a 33% increase to the cash prize, which was previously 75 million Naira. 

The 20 teams in the league have been divided into two groups of ten teams, with the newly-promoted quartet of Doma United, El-Kanemi Warriors, Bendel Insurance FC and 2021 Aiteo Cup winners Bayelsa United joining the 16 teams remaining from the NPFL22 season.

Here are the groups;

Group A: Kwara United, Nasarawa United, Plateau United, Gombe United, El-Kanemi Warriors, Enyimba, Akwa United, Bendel Insurance, Shooting Stars, Remo Stars.

Group B: Rangers, Doma United, Bayelsa United, Wikki Tourist, Lobi Stars, Abia Warriors, Rivers United, Dakkada FC, Sunshine Stars, Niger Tornadoes.

The top three teams from each group will face off in the Super Six at the end of the season to determine who emerges as the champion of the 2022-23 NPFL season. The league will commence on January 8th and end in May, lasting for five months.


What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x