UCL Final: Was the decision to rule out Karim Benzema's goal Correct ?
Champions League

UCL Final: Was the decision to rule out Karim Benzema’s goal Correct ?

Vinicuis Junior Scored in the second half to give Real Madrid a 1-0 win over Liverpool In the UEFA Champions League Final on Saturday night in Paris.

 

Before that Goal, Madrid had a goal contentiously disallowed for offside after the scorer Karim Benzema was adjudged to be in an offside position by the assistant Referee.

 

The VAR review backed the decision and this has sparked discussions and reviews from football fans across the globe. Sportsration Correspondent Nsikakabasi Akpan offers an explanation to why the goal was ruled out.

 

WAS KARIM BENZEMA IN AN OFFSIDE POSITION ?

YES.

WHEN IS A PLAYER ADJUDGED TO BE IN AN OFFSIDE POSITION ?

When he is closer to the opponents Goalline than both the ball and his second last opponent as at the time the ball was last played by a teammate.

 

In the situation under review, Benzema was not level with his second last opponent at the time (Virgil Van Dirk) when the ball was last played by a teammate.

 

Robertson replaced Goalkeeper Allison as the last Defender and so with Karim Benzema’s left leg ahead of his second last opponent at the time Virgil Van Dirk, he was rightly adjudged for offside and the goal ruled out.

 

With Real Madrid going ahead to win the title courtesy of Vinicuis Junior’s goal, this decision is of no consequence to Real Madrid as they Celebrate a well deserved UEFA Champions League title.

Related Articles

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x