Atletico Madrid qualify for FIFA Club World Cup 2025

Atletico Madrid have secured their spot in the inaugural FIFA Club World Cup 2025 following Barcelona’s defeat to Paris Saint-Germain in the UEFA Champions League quarter-finals.

Despite Atletico’s own exit from the European competition at the hands of Borussia Dortmund, Diego Simeone’s side is now assured of a place in the global tournament via the ranking pathway.

The FIFA Club World Cup 2025 is set to feature 32 teams and will be held in the United States during June and July. Clubs from each of the six confederations will compete for the esteemed title of world champions.

For European teams, 12 spots are available at the FIFA Club World Cup 2025. Winners of the UEFA Champions League over the past three seasons, including Manchester City, Real Madrid, and Chelsea, have already secured their places.

Additionally, clubs like Bayern Munich, Paris Saint-Germain, Inter Milan, Porto, Benfica, Borussia Dortmund, and Juventus have earned berths via the ranking pathway based on their Champions League performances over the past four seasons.

Atletico Madrid, now confirmed as the next best-ranked team on the qualification pathway, will join the winners of the current UEFA Champions League edition in the US.

If any club other than Arsenal clinches the title this year, FC Salzburg of Austria will also qualify as a European representative.

To ensure diversity, a cap of two clubs per country will be applied to the access list, with exceptions made in cases where more than two clubs from the same country win the confederation’s premier club competition over the four-year period.

READ ALSO: Borussia Dortmund secure thrilling thrilling comeback victory

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x