Africa Cup Sevens: Seven debutants in Nigeria’s Rugby 7s squad for Mauritius

Nigeria Rugby Sevens head coach, Steve Lewis, has announced the squad for the Africa Cup Sevens Tournament, scheduled to take place over two weekends from June 26 to July 8 in Mauritius.

The squad has seen significant changes with key players, including co-captains Declan Nwachukwu (center) and Olukolade Awobowale (winger), sidelined due to injuries. Former captain Onoru Jatto is also notably absent from the list.

“This is an exciting new squad for Nigeria 7s, with seven debutants eager to make a name for themselves in Mauritius against the best teams in Africa,” said Coach Lewis.

Nigeria Rugby President, Dr. Ademola Are, expressed optimism about the squad’s potential: “We want to finish with strong momentum to help us prepare for the next season.”

In Pool A, the Stallions Sevens will compete against Kenya, Madagascar, and host team Mauritius. Pool B includes Uganda, Burkina Faso, Tunisia, and Côte d’Ivoire, while Pool C features Zimbabwe, Zambia, Ghana, and Algeria.

Nigeria Sevens Team for Mauritius Tournaments:

  • Akpabio Samuel
  • Dodo Boluwatife
  • Sam Esukuloh
  • John Daniel
  • Richard Adeniyi-Jones
  • Macaulay Ogheneloyeme
  • Aniebonam David
  • Odunlami Oluwadara
  • Ilube Matthew
  • Henry-Ajudua Frederick
  • Etim Gabriel
  • Obano Oghenesuvwe Osereme
  • Kitto Oliver Lewis
  • Anthony John-Oluwatobiloba

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x